Here's a new mnemonic sketch and rhyme (both by Peter Hobbs) to recall the layout and names of the eight Welsh counties:

" Gwent, Powys and Clwyd
(south to north) are borders 3,
next to South/Mid/West Glamorgan,
Dyfed, Gwynedd (with Anglesey). "

To draw a simple sketch of Wales, remember:

" First England (chamfered), Gwent1 a square,
then Powys2, Clwyd3 (border's there), "

" Glamorgan456 angled (split in 3),
extend Dyfed7 diagonally, "

" then Gwynedd8 last (with Anglesey8a). "


Mnemonics Guide   Page ©1997   An EUdesign site